客户案例

客户简介 - International Cargo Express Pty Ltd 查看全部 »

View the PDF version

装运和交付

Ronald Spahr 注重保证员工幸福感和维持较低日常开支,为一家 30 年的公司开辟出一条健康成长之路。

International Cargo Express 成立于 1980 年代末经济衰退时期,其遵循的原则是保持高水平的客户服务,低水平的日常开支和按时付款。这里曾是很好的工作场所,但 2009 年在管理层收购过程中,市场发展突然放缓。新上任的总经理 Ronald Spahr 不得不在长期供职的管理团队中集思广益,运用集体经验成功战胜危机。

“我们一月业绩创纪录,紧接着三月业绩突然停滞,就像有人关掉水阀一样,”Spahr 说。“我们确实没有注意市场环境的不利影响;如果我能预见到满大街都是货代,我就会发现本该属于我们的商机了。”

International Cargo Express 是由 Peter Timmerman 和过去担任大型跨国公司要职且经验丰富的货代团队人员于 1988 年创立,公司始终秉承留住优秀人才、让客户满意的经营理念。在 2009 年,这意味着我们要设法鼓励谨慎的客户与我们重建业务关系。

“我们重新拜访客户,并指出如果他们等到今年晚些时候订购圣诞节货物,他们得多花些运费,因为大家都一样,都在抛售多余的存货,而且他们在某个阶段还需要再订购一次,”Spahr 说。“我们的业务发展放缓,但即便如此也没有亏钱,因为我们的日常开支有节制;我们没有挥霍无度,我们的员工数量适度,而且大家在工作中事必躬亲。我没有秘书,都是我自己完成输入工作。”

Spahr 之前供职于一家全球货代公司,当时他需要管理 5 名销售代表、3 名技术支持人员和 1 名秘书,他说在 1989 年刚加入 International Cargo Express 时感觉很震惊,但公司致力于客户服务的承诺一直激励着他继续前行。在早期阶段,公司提供跟踪和追溯等服务时,使用的软件不稳定,除了需要人工处理以外,还要拨打大量国际长途电话,直接打电话联系全球运输代理,这是一个劳动高度密集的过程。

因试图使用相当通用的 Microsoft 办公软件监控国际货运受挫后,International Cargo Express 采用了 1995 年发布的 Deliverance 系统(即 ediEnterprise 的前身),成为其早期采用者。

此决定为公司进入前所未有的高速增长期奠定坚实的基础。

“从 1996 年开始,我们经历了一轮井喷式增长,在墨尔本、布里斯班和弗里曼特尔设立办事处。我们公司按时结账的信誉已传遍整个商圈,而且现在我们可以更密切地跟踪我们的账户,”Spahr 说。“使用 Deliverance 系统,实际上是我们巩固业务、创建统计信息、确保再无复式记账的第一步;这让我们能够在不增加工作时间或员工的情况下增加工作量。”

International Cargo Express 继续采用发布的新软件升级,并利用软件日益一体化的特性遵循成立公司的基本原则,即改善客户服务,维持低日常开支。

“可以这么说,在 ediEnterprise 发布后,我们将销售、营销和业务数据存放到一个系统中,我觉得这个功能最重要,”Spahr 说。“我们专业快捷的服务获得一致好评,这得归功于模板和 ediEnterprise 系统。”

在业务经历又一轮创纪录增长后,Spahr 设定了同比增长 10% 的目标,力争在 2015 年让 International Cargo Express 公司营业额超过 5000 万美元。他知道,唯有在全体员工的努力下,维持低成本、保证优质服务才可能达到增长预期。

“我们没有船,我们不会装船,我们不会驾驶飞机,我们只负责构建运输链,”Spahr 说。“我们整个工作就是如此,并且我们表现很出色。”

International Cargo Express 为客户提供:

  • 透明度 – 客户可清楚明确地进行查询。
  • 沟通能力强 – 客户可随时了解每一个细节。
  • 决策速度快 – 能够快速确定并克服不可预见的问题。
  • 员工流动率低,积极性高 – 高水平服务归功于资深员工渊博的学识和丰富的经验。
  • 独立 – 致力于提供最经济高效的解决方案。

上一个客户案例:

Andes Logistics

Andes Logistics 拥有支持其服务的最佳技术,令其在南美物流市场中获得竞争优势。

下一步客户案例:

Kronoz

A drive towards continuous improvement and customer satisfaction lead Kronoz to choose technology that allowed them to work seamlessly.

  • 美洲
  • 澳大利亚和新西兰
  • 亚洲
  • 欧洲
  • 非洲

Customers

Customer Profile - International Cargo Express Pty Ltd View all ยป

View the PDF version

Ship and Deliver

By focusing on keeping staff happy and overheads low, Ronald Spahr has set a thirty-year old company on a healthy growth path.

Founded during the recession of the late 1980’s, International Cargo Express was created on the principles of keeping customer service high, overheads low, and paying bills on time. Which was a good place to be when a market slowdown hit suddenly in 2009, in the midst of a management buyout. Recently appointed managing director Ronald Spahr was forced to throw the collective experience of the long-serving management team at successfully overcoming the crisis.

“We had a record month in January, and then by March it stopped dead, just like someone turned off a tap,” Spahr says. “But we don’t really pay attention to the negativity of the environment; if I can see a street full of freight forwarders then I can see business we should be able to win.”

Founded in 1988 by Peter Timmerman and team of highly experienced freight forwarders who’d held senior positions with large global companies, International Cargo Express had always operated on the basis of holding onto excellent staff and keeping customers happy. In 2009, this meant finding a way to encourage wary customers back into business.

“We went back to our customers and pointed out that if they waited until later in the year to order their Christmas stock, they would have to pay a premium for shipping, because everyone was doing the same thing - selling down excess stock, and they would need to order again at some stage,” Spahr says. “Our business slowed, but even then we never lost money, because our overheads are controlled; we are not big spenders, we operate with just the right number of staff, and we do everything ourselves. I don’t have a secretary, I type my own letters.”

Having come from a global freight forwarding company where he managed five sales reps, three support staff, and a secretary, Spahr says he was in shock when he first started at International Cargo Express in 1989, but was motivated by the company’s commitment to customer service. Using temperamental software, manual processing, and a lot of international phone calls, the company offered services like track and trace in the very early days, using a highly labor intensive process of directly phoning shipping agents around the globe.

Frustrated by the process of attempting to keep watch over international cargo movements using fairly generic office software from Microsoft, International Cargo Express became an early adopter the of Deliverance system released in 1995, a precursor to ediEnterprise.

This was a decision which prepared the company for what was to be a period of rapid and unprecedented growth.

“From 1996 we went through this humungous growth spurt, we opened up offices in Melbourne, Brisbane, and Freemantle. We were already well known in the business as a company that paid our bills on time, but now we could track our accounts more closely,” Spahr says. “Using Deliverance was our first step to actually consolidate our business, create statistics, and ensure no more double entries; all this gave us the capacity to increase our job numbers without doing more office time, or hiring more staff.”

International Cargo Express continued to adopt new software upgrades as they were released, and leveraged the increasingly integrated nature of the software to improve customer service and keep overheads low, the very principles on which the business was founded.

“Once ediEnterprise was released we had sales, marketing, and operational data under one roof so to speak, and this is the most important feature in my view,” Spahr says. “We always get complimented on our professionalism and speed of service, and that’s thanks to templates and the ediEnterprise system.”

Once again recording record growth, Spahr has set his sights on turning International Cargo Express into a company with over $50 million in turnover by 2015, by hitting growth targets of 10 per cent year on year. He knows it’s his staff, and a low-cost, high-service approach, that will make growth possible.

“We don’t own the ships, we don’t load the ships, we don’t fly the plane, we are the architects of the transport chain,” Spahr says. “This is all we do and we do it well.”

International Cargo Express Offers Customers:

  • Transparency – enquiries and queries are dealt with clearly and unambiguously.
  • Excellent Communications – clients are kept abreast of every detail.
  • Fast decisions – unforeseen problems are quickly identified and overcome.
  • Low Staff Turnover and Motivated Personnel – high service levels built on the knowledge and experience of long-serving staff.
  • Independence—dedicated to offering the most cost effective solution.

Previous Customer Story:

Future Forwarding

By focusing on the people delivering the cargo, and forming strong international relationships Future Forwarding has managed to secure itself healthy growth and a promising future.

Next Customer Story:

Janel Group

Janel Group has built its solid reputation as a worldwide Customs broker who stays ahead of compliance demands.

  • Americas
  • Australia & NZ
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Africa