客户案例

客户简介 - John Good & Son Ltd 查看全部 »

View the PDF version

从优秀走向卓越

历经 180 年的商海沉浮,John Good Shipping 发现了声誉与行业需求的平衡之道,在超越世代传承的声誉的同时,紧跟行业迅速发展的步伐。

“这家公司确实有点老套,但每一天都不同,”John Good Shipping 总经理 Alan Platt 说。“你会面对不同的货物、不同的国家/地区、不同的文化、不同的领域。虽然老套,但并非千篇一律,甚至总是充满挑战。”

自 John Good 于 1833 年成立 John Good & Co Ship Chandlers, Agents and Brokers 后,公司主要与波罗的海各国和芬兰的船主保持贸易往来。虽然克里米亚战争曾阻断贸易,公司仍顽强发展,并于世纪末发展成为 John Good & Sons,与延续至今的 Good 家族建立联系。

“时至今日公司内还有 Good 家族的后代,他们是公司的非执行董事,”Platt 说。“众所周知,公司历史悠久,并且一直保持良好的财务状况,这是最有力的信誉证明。”

Alan Platt 在 1990 年代初加入德国航运公司,开始其航运行业的职业生涯,在 1998 年加入 John Good 之前,曾暂时转战快速消费品领域,先后供职于 Kraft General Foods 和 Highland Distillers。随着行业竞争越来越激烈、越来越复杂,John Good 逐渐扩大业务范围,进军各类相关领域,从航运和货代到卡车运输和国内物流,乃至企业差旅服务。同时,在 John Good 扩大业务范围走在快速发展市场的前列时,货代和物流行业的许多公司却疲于应付,举步维艰。

“我们看到许多小型承运公司和货代公司陷入绝境,而我们一直在发展壮大,”Platt 说。“我们认为我们的这些成功离不开完善的管理团队、良好的现金管理,以及正确的自我认识,即我们的业务属于服务业,一切以客户为重。”

正是客户要求降低成本,提高服务水平的呼声越来越高,才促使 John Good 的业务流程逐渐发展。为满足日益增长的即时数据需求,John Good 于 2010 年与 PWC 签约,让该公司评估市场上不同的软件提供商,旨在升级内部开发的货运管理系统,即运行虽稳定却已过时的 AS400 服务器。

“我们陷入困境,越来越难以找到能够开发软件的开发人员,”Platt 说。“我们决定先发制人,找到健全且长期可持续发展的软件。”

在需要做出最终决定时,Platt 说,John Good 选择了 ediEnterprise,因为它将许多不同的功能整合到一个系统中,因此不需要研究多个软件供应商和系统。

“ediEnterprise 具备我们需要的所有功能,我们不需要附加额外的系统,我们觉得此解决方案更健全,因为在一个地方就可以找到所有支持,”Platt 说。

据 Platt 所说,ediEnterprise 提高了业务效率,让会计团队摆脱了重复的数据录入工作,同时还提高了公司数据访问的质量和频率。更重要的是,John Good 可使用 ediEnterprise 软件访问必需的数据源,以便满足客户日益增长的信息需求。

“在 10 年前或 15 年前,客户对汇报库存位置及其目的地的周报很满意,而今他们却想了解仓库内日间任何时刻的托盘数量,”Platt 说。“我们的客户是按即时供货情况工作,他们必须了解其货物位置,因为如果他们不能按时拿到其小部件,整个生产和供应链可能都会遭到耽搁或中断。”

John Good & Sons 为客户提供:

  • 英国各大港口的班轮及港口代理服务
  • 全部物流服务,包括货代、运输和仓储
  • 依托与欧洲、亚洲、印度、中东、南美、南非和土耳其之间的密切关系,提供国际货运管理服务
  • 位于伊斯坦布尔和伊兹密尔的海外办事处
  • 各方面的清关服务,包括 CFSP
  • 集装箱卡车运输
  • 国内和欧洲全部装货和部分装货配送

上一个客户案例:

CLEARFreight

员工需要借助系统的支持,所借助的系统最好像员工一样具备创新、勤勉等特质。Kenji Go 和 CLEARFreight 团队对此深以为然,在实际工作中也努力践行着这一点。

下一步客户案例:

M.E. Dey

立足物流行业 105 年后,M.E. Dey 开始使用先进的技术来履行其提高员工效率和客户服务水平的承诺。

  • 美洲
  • 澳大利亚和新西兰
  • 亚洲
  • 欧洲
  • 非洲

Customer Profile - John Good & Son Ltd View all ยป

View the PDF version

From Good to Great

After 180 years in business, John Good Shipping is discovering ways to balance a reputation which transcends generations, with the demands of a rapidly evolving industry.

“It’s a bit of a cliché really, but every day in this business is different,” says Alan Platt, managing director of John Good Shipping. “You’re dealing with different cargoes, different countries, different cultures, different sectors. There’s nothing same old, same old, it’s always a challenge.”

So it has been since John Good launched John Good & Co Ship Chandlers, Agents and Brokers, to focus on trade with Baltic and Finnish ship owners in 1833. Although trade was halted by the Crimean War, the company grew, and by the end of the century had become John Good & Sons, creating a connection with the Good family which exists through to the present day.

“There are still descendants from the Good family who are non-executive directors of the company today,” says Platt. “The fact that people know you’ve been around for so long, and that you’re still in good financial shape speaks volumes in terms of credibility.”

Having started his career within the shipping industry with a German shipping line in the early 1990s, Alan Platt veered briefly into the realm of fast moving consumer goods in a role with Kraft General Foods, followed by Highland Distillers, before joining John Good in 1998. As the industry became more competitive and complex, John Good diversified into a range of related areas - from shipping and freight forwarding, to trucking and domestic logistics, and even corporate travel. At the same time John Good was diversifying to stay ahead of the rapidly evolving market, however, many in the freight forwarding and logistics industry were struggling to stay afloat.

“We’re seen a lot of small hauliers go to the wall, along with a number of the smaller freight forwarding companies, while we’ve been growing,” says Platt. “We would like to think that our success in times like these comes down to a sound management team, good cash management, and an understanding that our business is primarily a service industry, it’s all about the customers.”

It is increasingly the demands of customers to reduce costs and increase service levels which has driven a process of gradual evolution in John Good’s business processes. Responding to growing demand for timely data, John Good contracted PWC in 2010 to assess different software providers on the market, with the view to upgrade from an internally-developed freight management system, which was operating on highly stable, but outdated, AS400 servers.

“We were getting to the position where it was getting harder and harder to find developers who could work on the software,” says Platt. “We took the decision to be proactive and find software which would be robust and sustainable in the long term.”

When it came down to the final decision, Platt says John Good opted for ediEnterprise because it integrates a number of different functions in a single system, evading the need to deal with multiple software vendors and systems.

“Everything is there in ediEnterprise, there’s no need to add on extra systems, and we felt it was a more robust solution because that support was all in one place,” Platt says.

According to Platt, the improvements in operational efficiencies delivered by ediEnterprise have enabled their accounting team to move away from repetitive data entry work, as well as providing better and more regular access to company data. More importantly the ediEnterprise software gave John Good access to the data feeds necessary to provide customers with the level of information they are increasingly demanding.

“Ten or fifteen years ago customers would be happy with a weekly report on where their stock was and where it was going, today they want to know exactly how many pallets are in store at any time during the day,” says Platt. “Our customers are working to just-in-time scenarios, and it’s crucial for them to know where their goods are, because the whole production and supply chain might be held up or stopped if they don’t get their widgets on time.”

John Good & Sons Offers Customer:

  • Liner and Port Agency services at all main ports in the UK
  • Full logistics service including freight forwarding, haulage and warehousing
  • International freight management services with strong links between Europe and Asia, India, Middle East, South America, South Africa and Turkey
  • Own overseas offices in Istanbul and Izmir
  • All aspects of customs clearance including CFSP
  • Container trucking
  • Full load and part load national and European distribution

Previous Customer Story:

John F. Kilroy

Strong family values and superior technology have earned this small-sized Customs Broker its big reputation in the industry.

Next Customer Story:

Kingscote Rojay Ltd

Kingscote Rojay Ltd. uses technology to provide global service with personalized attention to customers worldwide.

  • Americas
  • Australia & NZ
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Africa