客户案例

客户简介 - LEGACY Supply Chain Services 查看全部 »

View the PDF version

携手并进

Russ Romine 的职业生涯是从学校假期开始,他随后从卡车装箱工变为物流业一家公司的运输部领导,这是其中一家最具创新且发展最快的公司。

虽然 Romine 是在物流公司成长起来,但直至 2003 年他从创始人手中收购 Griffin Transport Services,成为 LEGACY Supply Chain Services 运输副总裁后,他才意识到为别人工作与经营自己的公司有天壤之别。

“有一天我们签署了文件,紧接着我如梦初醒,仓皇失措。我忽然间必须确保工资名单中的每个人每个月都能领到工资,”Romine 说。“我们的员工很优秀,但我需要提高销售额才能带动公司迈上新的台阶。”

Romine 开始寻找高技能员工帮助公司发展壮大,并且开始扩大公司业务范围,以传统的国际货代为基础向国内配送业务发展。随着全球经济增速突然放缓,公司的收入来源也从减少发展为冻结,这证明其变革具有预见性。

“眼见业绩急速下滑确实很吓人,但我们看到运输业务需求下滑的同时也看到了配送需求的增涨,”Romine 说。“入库出库,听起来容易,但需要使用适宜的系统和适宜的工作人员才能做到真正的盈利。”

因业务多元化和灵活性安然渡过全球经济危机后,一家大型综合公司 TMSi Logistics 与 Romine 接洽,两家公司开始讨论合并问题。

“TMSi 以专属仓储模式为主,而我们主要经营配送业务,只是我们的规模小得多,”Romine 说。“经过大约一年的协商,我们看到共图发展的机会。”

在 2011 年 8 月,TMSi 宣布收购 Griffin Global Logistics。TMSi 的物流网络与 Griffin 的全球运输、供应链管理和多客户配送业务融合,为两家公司提供推出第三方物流综合解决方案的机会。此解决方案也代表着推动企业发展的两种价值观文化的调整。Griffin 大部分成功均基于其首次收购后的前几年在企业内部执行的某些深层文化变革,在意识到这一点后,Romine 开始面对有趣的挑战,让其员工在继续从事多年来从事的工作的前提下进入新环境,培养创造与创新文化。

“我们公司的发展始终离不开员工团队的努力,公司各层人员均秉持同一个企业经营方针,”Romine 说。“我们的企业文化很强大,而且要想长期生存,唯有留住高水平人才,并保持企业内部的交流。”

Romine 还知道,持续利用技术作为公司的竞争优势至关重要。

“我们考虑过各个不同的技术提供商,直至发现 ediEnterprise,我们才算能与大型合作伙伴公司进行公平竞争,”Romine 说。“而要正确开展实施过程,真的离不开根本性的问题解决文化。”

2012 年 2 月,新整编的公司重命名为 LEGACY Supply Chain Services,同时推出完全整合的供应链、运输和仓储服务。Romine 说,公司准备利用新发现的业务、技术和文化精髓,全速发展。

“最大的挑战是经济发展更加强劲时,能催生出优秀的员工和客户,”Romine 说。“国际舞台的机会将变得越来越难以掌控,我们需要建立卓越的团队,准备好抓住发展的机会。”

LEGACY Supply Chain Services 为客户提供:

  • 专属和多租客仓储和配送
  • 国内运输报关
  • 国际货代
  • 海关经纪
  • 运输管理服务
  • 供应链系统
  • 供应链分析和计划
  • 安装服务
  • 电气和数据服务
  • 领导力发展培训
  • 信息技术服务

上一个客户案例:

Kingscote Rojay Ltd

Kingscote Rojay Ltd. 运用技术提供全球服务,并以个性化方式关注全球客户。

下一步客户案例:

Whale Logistics

Whale Logistics 是亚太地区创新且具成本效益的供应链解决方案领先供应商,声名远播。

  • 美洲
  • 澳大利亚和新西兰
  • 亚洲
  • 欧洲
  • 非洲

Customer Profile - LEGACY Supply Chain Services View all ยป

View the PDF version


Russ Romine has gone from packing trucks in his school holidays to heading up the transport division of one of the most innovative and fast growing companies in the logistics sector.

Although he grew up in the logistics business, it wasn’t until he bought Griffin Transport Services from its founder in 2003, that Russ Romine, current Vice President of Transportation for LEGACY Supply Chain Services, realized the stark difference between working for others and running your own company.

“One day we signed the paperwork, and the next I woke up in a panic. Suddenly I had to make sure everyone on that payroll got their pay every month,” Romine says. “We had good people, but I needed stronger sales to take the business to the next level.”

Romine set about finding highly skilled staff to help the business to grow, and began to diversify the company’s focus from its traditional international freight forwarding base into domestic distribution. The transition proved prophetic when the sudden slowdown in the global economy brought businesses with limited income sources to a standstill.

“It was definitely scary to see a decline in business like that, but as we saw demand for transportation businesses sliding, we saw a pickup in demand for distribution,” Romine says. “Box-in, box-out, it sounds easy but you need the right systems, and the right people, to really make it profitable.”

Having survived the global downturn thanks to diversification and agility, Romine was approached by a larger integrated provider, TMSi Logistics, and both companies began merger discussions.

“TMSi had been focused on the dedicated warehousing model, and we had the strength in the distribution side of things but on a much smaller scale,” Romine says. “There was about a year of conversation about where we saw opportunities to grow together.”

In August 2011, TMSi announced the acquisition of Griffin Global Logistics. The blend of TMSi’s logistics network with Griffin’s global transportation, supply chain management, and multi-client distribution, provided both companies the opportunity to offer an integrated 3PL solution to the market. It also represented a unique cultural alignment of two values driven organizations. Aware that much of Griffin’s success was based on some of the underlying cultural changes he’d implemented in the organization in the early years following his initial purchase, Romine faced the interesting challenge of bringing his staff into a new environment, without losing the work he’d put in over the years to foster a culture of creativity and innovation.

“Our growth was always driven by our team of people, with an entrepreneurial approach at all levels of the company,” Romine says. “We had a very strong culture, and the only way to survive in the longer term is to maintain a high level of talent and engagement within the organization.”

Romine was also aware of the importance of continuously leveraging technology as a competitive advantage for the company.

“We’d gone through a whole series of different technology providers, and it wasn’t until we came across ediEnterprise that we could get onto a level playing field with larger partners,” Romine says. “Then to get the implementation process right, you really need an underlying culture of problem solving.”

In February 2012, the newly aligned company was renamed LEGACY Supply Chain Services, bringing to market a fully integrated supply chain, transportation, and warehousing service. Romine says the company is moving full steam ahead, ready to take advantage of its new found operational, technological, and cultural synergies.

“The biggest challenge will be keeping good staff and customers on board as the economy gets stronger,” Romine says. “Opportunities on the international stage are going to get stronger and we need an excellent team ready to take on opportunities to grow.”

LEGACY Supply Chain Services Offers Customers:

  • Dedicated & Multi-tenant Warehousing & Distribution
  • Domestic Transportation Brokerage
  • International Freight Forwarding
  • Customs House Brokerage
  • Transportation Management Services
  • Supply Chain Systems
  • Supply Chain Analysis & Planning
  • Installation Services
  • Electrical & Data Services
  • Leadership Development Training
  • Information Technology Services

Previous Customer Story:

Kingscote Rojay Ltd

Kingscote Rojay Ltd. uses technology to provide global service with personalized attention to customers worldwide.

Next Customer Story:

Logfret International Logistics

Logfret International Logistics discusses the benefits their company has seen since adopting WiseTech Global's PAVE productivity solution.

  • Americas
  • Australia & NZ
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Africa