客户案例

客户简介 - M.E. Dey 查看全部 »

View the PDF version

改变与延续

立足物流行业 105 年后,M.E. Dey 开始使用先进的技术来履行其提高员工效率和客户服务水平的承诺。

“许多人与 M.E. Dey 合作是因为我们因照顾客户而声名远播,”密尔沃基货代 M.E. Dey 总裁 Robert Gardenier 说。“业界其他人都知道,如果某公司已经是 M.E. Dey 的客户,则别指望能撬走这个客户。

公司于 1907 年由 Mae Elizabeth Dey 成立,当时的进口货物需使用轮船运到美国,然后经铁路运到内陆。从一开始,M.E. Dey 的成功就是建立在与其他报关行密切合作以及对客户服务坚定承诺的基础之上。

105 年后,公司总裁 Gardenier(Mae Elizabeth Dey 的曾侄孙)仍设法采用先进技术,使公司维持期长期奉行的传统文化。

1980 年代早期,我们顶着极大的价格压力疲于应对激增的技术投资需求。我们意识到,为了生存,我们需要从大大小小的各类竞争对手中脱颖而出,”Gardenier 说。“在接下来的 10 年,M.E. Dey 侧重于客户教育、服务拓展和技术,实现自我转型。我们公司未来需要减少从事货运工作的员工,加强管理流程;这就需要综合素质更高的员工。

M.E. Dey 所进行的变革并不是局限于仅关注可量化的结果,而是以不断变化和改善的文化为变革方针,旨在找到更好更有效的方式,迎合客户群需求。正因如此,M.E. Dey 如今才凭借以下三大因素脱颖而出:卓越一致的客户服务、留住高技能员工并提高其素质的承诺以及不断变化的文化支撑。

我们通过客户服务、教育、积极主动性以及在短期内实现变更和调整,从市场中脱颖而出,”Gardenier 解释道。“我们为客户提供一名主要联系人,并努力确保中小型客户获得大型提供商不会为其提供的支持和服务。”

尽管致力于客户服务、改革和适应,但 M.E. Dey 发现相比大型竞争公司,M.E. Dey 在与客户保持联系的方法方面并无优势。随着竞争对手购买先进的数据管理系统,并以战略方式使用这些系统挑战 M.E. Dey 的客户服务声誉,我们的客户和内部团队发现竞争越来越艰难。

“近来客户的流动性极高,其工作人员减少,不一定能在正常工作时间与我们沟通,因此他们需要我们全天候以各种格式为其提供所需信息,”Gardenier 说。“我们意识到,我们和我们的客户都想要且需要增强互动性,以及访问实时信息。

作为一家中型服务提供商,我们也面临着世俗观念的挑战,有人认为我们公司规模太小,不能管理重大或复杂的货运业务。虽然这种观念不会导致业绩下降,Gardenier 说,但意味着 M. E. Dey 常常会遭到忽视,到时客户会到市场中物色规模更大的签约方。

“通常没有机会与我们合作的公司认为我们公司太小,不能处理国际货运业务,”Gardenier 说。“当这些公司体验到我们合作伙伴网络的运作能力,以及我们如何响应其需求后,他们的观念很快就会转变,特别是在他们认识到我们可以自由选择各国最好的合作伙伴,并确保找到的合作伙伴最符合客户要求时。

结果表明,不管是战胜客户服务挑战,还是满足紧跟大型竞争公司步伐的需求,都需要采用 ediEnterprise 平台托管的全球客户综合数据库。此软件经济实惠、精细完善,可让 M.E. Dey 加强并简化其内部流程,继续提供声名远播的个性化服务。

我们是这个行业中存活下来的众多家族企业之一,而且我的家人仍在密集参与日常业务活动,”Gardenier 说。“这体现了我们如何将服务的连续性与服务的品质融为一体,但我们知道不采用适宜的技术,我们很难保住此声誉。

我们绝不会以最低成本为策略进行营销宣传,也不会根据竞争对手的价格努力压价,但我们会确保我们的卓越服务物有所值。”

M.E. Dey 为客户提供:

  • 进口服务,包括国内报关、在线货运跟踪、自动通知、海关保税和海运保险。
  • 出口服务,提供贸易条款货运跟踪、空运和海运在线报价,以及信用证文件服务
  • 整合的全球货代服务,包括仓储和配送、点对点航线服务。
  • 贸易和法规服务,包括合规评估、报关合规、部件分类、关税设计、分类和 FTZ 服务。

上一个客户案例:

DJS International Services Inc

第三代家族企业 DJS International 正在寻找全新的创新方法,以求将小公司高度个性化的服务与大公司的可靠性、高效数据管理相结合。

下一步客户案例:

Whale Logistics

Whale Logistics 是亚太地区创新且具成本效益的供应链解决方案领先供应商,声名远播。

  • 美洲
  • 澳大利亚和新西兰
  • 亚洲
  • 欧洲
  • 非洲

Customer Profile - M.E. Dey View all »

View the PDF version

Change and Continuity

After 105 years in the logistics industry, M.E. Dey is using sophisticated technology to maintain its commitment to staff efficiency, and high levels of customer service.

"A lot of people come to work with M.E. Dey because we have a strong reputation for looking after our customers,” says Robert Gardenier, President of Milwaukee-based freight forwarder M.E. Dey. “Other people in the industry know that if a company is already a customer of M.E. Dey, it’s going to be hard to win that business away from us.

The company was founded in 1907, by Mae Elizabeth Dey, at a time when imports into the US arrived by steamship, and were then transported inland by rail. From its inception, M.E. Dey’s success was based on strong partnerships with other brokers, and a deep commitment to customer service.

A hundred and five years later, company President Gardenier, Mae Elizabeth Dey’s great-grandnephew, is still looking for ways to use the most modern technology in a way that will enable the company to maintain its long held traditions.

In the early 1980’s, we came under a lot of pricing pressure and significant demands for investment in technology. We realized that in order to survive we’d need to differentiate ourselves from our competitors, big and small,” says Gardenier. “Over the next 10 years, M.E. Dey transformed itself, by focusing on client education, service expansion, and technology. Our future will require fewer staff working shipments, and more managing processes; that requires staff who are more sophisticated.

Rather than limit this ongoing transformation to a narrow focus on measureable outcomes, M.E. Dey’s approach was to adopt a culture of constant change and improvement, aimed at finding better and more effective ways to cater to the needs of its client base. As a result M.E. Dey today clearly differentiates itself based on three main factors: excellent and consistent customer service, a commitment to maintaining and enhancing highly skilled staff, and supporting a culture of ongoing change.

We differentiate ourselves through customer service, education, the ability to be proactive, and our capacity to change and adjust in a short amount of time,” explains Gardenier. “We provide our clients with one key contact, and strive to ensure our small to medium size clients get the support and service they simply wouldn’t receive from larger providers."

In spite of this commitment to customer service, change and adaption, M.E. Dey found it was losing ground to larger competitors when it came to the way it kept in touch with its customers. Customers and internal teams were finding it increasingly hard to compete, as competitors bought into sophisticated data management systems and used them strategically to challenge M.E. Dey’s reputation for customer service.

"Clients are very mobile these days, they have fewer people doing the work and are not always able to communicate with us during normal business hours, so they need their information to be readily available 24/7 in a range of formats,” says Gardenier. “We recognized that we, and our clients, wanted and needed more interactivity, and access to real-time information.

As a mid-sized service provider, the company was also challenged with the perception that it was too small to manage major, or complex, shipments. While it was not leading to a drop in business, Gardenier says this perception meant that M. E. Dey was often overlooked, when customers when to market for larger contracts.

"Often companies who haven’t had the opportunity to work with us perceive our company to be too small when working in the international freight business,” Gardenier says. “Once they experience how our network of partners functions, and how we can respond to their needs, their perception quickly changes, especially when they realize that we have the liberty to truly select the best partner in each country, and will ensure that we find partners who best fit the customer requirements.

As it turned out, the solution for both customer service challenges, and the need to keep up with much larger competitors, lay in the adoption of a single global customer database hosted on the ediEnterprise platform. Affordable and sophisticated, the software enabled M.E. Dey to enhance and streamline its internal processes, while maintain the personal service on which it has built a strong reputation.

We are one of a number of family owned businesses left in our industry, and my family remains intimately involved in the business on a daily basis,” says Gardenier. “That’s how we combine continuity of service with quality of service, but we knew without the right technology we would struggle to hold onto this reputation.

We are never going to present ourselves as the lowest-cost option, or struggle to undercut our competitors’ pricing, but we will ensure we provide excellent value for the dollars spent.”

M.E. Dey Offers Customers:

  • Import Services including nationwide customs brokerage, online shipment tracing, automated notification, Customs bonds and marine insurance.
  • Export Services offering shipment tracking to Incoterm, on-line air and ocean freight quotes, and letter of credit documentation services
  • Integrated Worldwide Freight Forwarding service including warehousing and distribution, point-to point routing.
  • Trade and regulatory services including compliance evaluation, customs compliance, parts classification, duty engineering, classification and FTZ services.

Previous Customer Story:

Logistics Plus

With every office united by the same powerful technology, Logistics Plus has found its way to even greater worldwide success.

Next Customer Story:

Mid-America Overseas

Mid-America Overseas Chief Financial Officer, Michael Mierwinski, knew his greatest challenge in migrating the company onto a new software platform would be changing the way the IT team interacted with the rest of the company…

  • Americas
  • Australia & NZ
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Africa