客户案例

客户简介 - Navia Logistics 查看全部 »

View the PDF version

撬动世界的物流人:Navia Logistics

Navia Logistics 的成功源自于客户和员工,以及对股东的高度重视,公司从只有两个人的小公司不断发展壮大,目前已在 3 个城市拥有 4 个仓库。

这家物流公司的总部位于墨尔本,公司的主管们很清楚,当他们发现员工开始承受过重的工作压力时,公司就必须做出改变了。

Navia 的首席信息官 Brendan Borg 说:“过去,我们的员工工作时间非常长,他们常常觉得压力大得喘不过气来,仿佛肩负着全世界的重担。”

“很多员工都觉得压力大,有些员工甚至因此想要离职。”

如果公司吸引新业务的速度超过其处理现有工作的速度,公司的员工就需要长时间工作,并会感到压力过大。Navia 大量的工作仍然依赖费时费力的手动操作,这更加剧了问题的严重性。

“如果一个员工不在岗位上,我们就必须暂时顶替这个员工,但却不知道这个岗位的具体工作进展到何种程度,”Navia 的客户服务团队成员 Neota Green-McNiff 说。 

“我们得过去拿文件,或者坐在他们的位子上,才可以工作。在我们能够使用系统储存所有信息之前,都是通过纸质文件来处理业务,因此对我们来说最困难的事情就是工作的交接。”

为满足不断增长的客户群的新要求,Navia 可以增聘人手,但无法保证新入职的员工不会像现在的员工一样工作负荷大、压力大,对工作提不起劲。公司没有选择这个方案,而是寻找其他解决方案。当 Borg 了解到 CargoWise One 的效率优化及视觉化引擎(PAVE)时,他当即说服领导使用这个系统。

“我对这个系统能够实现的强大功能感到非常意外,”Borg 说。

“我打电话给 Simon,我们的 CEO,跟他说‘请相信我,这个系统会帮助我们成功的’。”

成效十分显著。使用 PAVE 之后,Navia 能够将诸如登记、发送文档和开票等繁杂的工作自动化,从而提高工作效率。这可以让员工腾出时间来处理更复杂的工作,比起过去占用他们时间的重复性工作,这些复杂的工作能为公司创造更多的价值。

“我无法想象回到过去那样,所有的文件都需要手动填写,”Green-McNiff 说。

“首先要找到一份文件,放到桌面上,填完之后传给下一个人继续——与我们现在使用的系统相比,这种做法实在太低效了。” 

使用 PAVE 之后,他们可以在更短的时间内完成更多工作,这对大家来说都是好事——特别是对 Navia 的基层员工而言,他们可以轻松地看到分配给自己的工作,而且可以很清楚地区分哪些任务比较紧急,哪些任务可以暂缓处理。PAVE 的自动化功能分配给具有较多可用时间的员工,避免一部分人工作负荷过大。

“你可以对 PAVE 进行设置,其中有很多的门道,”Borg 说。

“这个系统非常精深,如果弄懂了它,就没有什么办不到的。甚至是我们现在认为不可能办到的事。它真的非常强大。”

PAVE 在助力 Navia 实现转型并提高工作效率方面发挥了至关重要的作用,但最令 Borg 感到鼓舞的是 PAVE 对基层员工产生的积极影响:因为基层员工是 Navia 业务的核心,也是公司决定使用 PAVE 的初衷。

“看到他们比以前开心了,”他总结道,“是一件非常有成就感的事。”

Navia Logistics 为客户提供:

  • 进口/出口 FCL 和 LCL 海运
  • IATA 认证的进口/出口空运
  • 大件货物运输
  • 清关、关税建议、关税减免咨询与申请
  • 订单管理(从采购订单到最终送达)服务
  • 集装箱装箱及拆箱

上一个客户案例:

Kingscote Rojay Ltd

Kingscote Rojay Ltd. 运用技术提供全球服务,并以个性化方式关注全球客户。

下一步客户案例:

OIA Global

了解 CargoWise One 如何助力 OIA Japan 及其客户提高工作效率。

Customer Profile - Navia Logistics View all »

View the PDF version

People Who Move the World: Navia Logistics

Navia Logistics attributes its success to its customers and employees, and this emphasis on stakeholders has enabled the company to grow from a small, two-person operation to running four warehouses across three cities.

The directors of the Melbourne-based logistics company knew something had to change when they noticed staff were beginning to buckle under workload pressure.

“We had staff that would be working very long hours, constantly feeling like they were drowning, with the weight of the world on their shoulders,” says Brendan Borg, Navia’s Chief Information Officer.

“We had loads of staff stressed, and some on the verge of leaving.”

Long hours and stress aren’t uncommon for employees of companies that attract new business faster than they can complete existing work. For Navia, this problem was compounded by the bulk of its work relying on laborious manual processes.

“When a person was away, we’d have to cover that person without really knowing what might be on,” adds Neota Green-McNiff, a member of Navia’s Client Services team. 

“We’d either have to go up and get the files, or go up and sit in their chair physically, to actually be that person. So one of the main difficulties was covering that before we had everything in the system, back when it was all paper.”

Navia could’ve hired extra help to meet the increasing demand of its growing customer base, but there was no guarantee that new team members wouldn’t end up in the same situation as existing staff: overworked, stressed and discouraged. Instead, the company looked for other options, and when Borg learned about CargoWise One’s Productivity Acceleration & Visualization Engine (PAVE), he went straight to the top to get it implemented.

“I was just so blown away at the possibility of what could be achieved within the system,” says Borg.

“I called our CEO, Simon, and said ‘You’re going to have to trust me. We’re doing this, and it’s going to work.’”

The results were dramatic. After implementing PAVE, Navia was able to boost productivity by automating away menial tasks such as registrations, document delivery, and invoicing. This freed up staff to handle more complex work, where they were able to add more value than the old, repetitive manual tasks that used to take up their time.

“I couldn’t see us going back to physically writing out all the files like we used to,” says Green-McNiff.

“Having to find a file, put it on our desk, move it along, pass it on to the next person—it was very old-school compared to what we’re doing now.” 

The switch to PAVE means that more work is being done in less time, which is good news for everyone—especially Navia’s floor staff, who are now easily able to see the work assigned to them, which tasks are urgent, and which tasks can wait. PAVE’s automation functions also ensure that new work is assigned to people who have more capacity, preventing others being overloaded.

“[PAVE is] so configurable, and the rope is so long,” says Borg.

“The rabbit hole is so deep that you can literally do anything you want if you figure it out. Things that we thought weren’t in the realm of the possible now are. It’s incredibly powerful.”

PAVE has played a crucial role in transforming Navia’s approach to productivity, but Borg is most encouraged by the positive effect it has had on floor staff: the beating heart of Navia’s business and the reason PAVE was implemented in the first place.

“To see these people happier,” he concludes, “it was a really powerful thing.”

Navia Logistics Offers Customers

  • FCL and LCL import and export seafreight
  • Airfreight import and export - IATA accredited
  • High and Heavy freight moves
  • Customs Clearance, tariff advice, tariff concession consultation and application
  • Order management from purchase order level through final delivery
  • Container packing and unpacking

Previous Customer Story:

John Good & Son Ltd

After 180 years in business John Good Shipping is discovering ways to balance a reputation which transcends generations, with the demands of a rapidly evolving industry.

Next Customer Story:

Senator International

Senator International faces the challenges of a complex, dynamic logistics industry head on with its integrated warehousing solution.

  • Americas
  • Australia & NZ
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Africa