客户案例

客户简介 - World Exchange 查看全部 »

View the PDF version

改变世界的助力:World Exchange

World Exchange 是一家家族企业,世代经营物流业务。“回顾过去、放眼未来”的经营理念使该公司在瞬息万变的行业不断取得成功。

在物流行业,新贵公司往往在价格和速度上竞争,不断相互削弱,而且常常过分承诺。然而,World Exchange 谙知,经验无可替代。

“便宜的清关服务遍地都有,但像我们公司这样既有深度、又有广度的知识却很难找到,”World Exchange 总裁兼首席执行官 David Gomez 说。

“无论是多么复杂的海关问题,我们都能解决。”

World Exchange 在挑战中茁壮成长。在报关方面,其团队能帮助申报航天飞机碎片、南极洲的新鲜空气,甚至是用于医学研究的尸体。 

David 的信心源自他倾注一生立足物流行业,而且他在公司各级部门也有多年的实践经验。“我们家族世代从事物流业务。不夸张地说,[洛杉矶国际机场] 汤姆 布兰得利国际航厦是我儿时的游乐园。随着我和公司一起成长,物流成为一项独特的挑战,而我乐在其中。”

迎接变革

去年,David 接替父亲 Frank Gomez 担任公司首席执行官。和许多家族企业一样,转型并不容易,但 71 岁的 Frank 认为转型至关重要。 

“随着技术的发展,一切都在改变。你必须放手,给年轻人一个机会,让他们将公司做好做大,“Frank 说。“我对 David 充满信心。我现在很清楚,他能做到。”

Frank 说,自 20 多年前创办公司以来,电子数据交换 (EDI) 便一直是他的梦想,但他最初还是拒绝迁移到 CargoWise One。他很高兴 David 说服他迈出这一步。

“我们在不断挣扎努力,”Frank 坦承。“我们现在有很棒的工具。我们可以在任何层面与任何对手竞争,这是我最引以为傲的。”

事半功倍

首席财务官 Amy Hess 说,迁移到 CargoWise One 后,她能够腾出更多时间,专注于自己喜欢的事情。“我们可以做得更多,”她说。“过去,由于软件无法胜任,有些项目我们根本无法做到。”

Hess 喜欢为客户和自己排忧解难。她表示,除了聘请 WiseService 合作伙伴帮助提供初始培训之外,CargoWise One 的在线资源一直以来也大有助益。“我们经常利用在线学习。系统、培训,再加上在线学习,可谓收效显著。到现在我还会访问网络学习课程,挖掘其中包含的大量信息。”

对于 Frank Gomez 来说,聘请 WiseService 合作伙伴不仅方便,而且符合他的经营理念。“在这个行业,你不会愿意坐以待毙,”他说。“如果我们要采取一些措施,我们会全力以赴并将它做好。[聘请 WiseService 合作伙伴] 能让我们旗开得胜。”

David Gomez 对此表示同意。“当我们第一天启用该系统时,一切非常顺利。相比以前的转型,这一次我的员工感觉很轻松。慧咨环球为我们提供如此多的支持,与我们以前的情况相比简直是天壤之别。”

新挑战,新机遇

向 CargoWise One 的迁移和两代掌舵人的交接推动 World Exchange 迈入新的时代。Frank Gomez 目前专注于解决问题,为企业出谋划策,而 David 则推出新的大胆计划,继续推动公司向前发展。 

“我发现物流是一个有趣的行业。在这个世界上,没有哪个行业像物流行业一样,人们通过贸易彼此互动,”他说。“现在,我们获得了一些很好的机会来推进物流行业的发展,并能够与联邦快递、DHL 和亚马逊相竞争。这对物流行业来说是一个激动人心的时刻,我很高兴能与我的员工一起努力,抓住机遇。”

对于像 World Exchange 这样的家族企业,了解过去,就更容易预见未来。

World Exchange 为客户提供:

  • 报关
  • 清关
  • 仓库/FTZ 条目
  • 罚款、处罚和没收相关服务
  • 单证、保税等服务

上一个客户案例:

Port Nelson

Port Nelson 不满足于促进当地发展,更致力于推动当地发展。

下一步客户案例:

Worldwide Forwarding Network Pty Ltd

当 Peter Vaughan 在 1994 年创办 Worldwide Forwarding Network 时,他说感觉就像跳下悬崖。

  • 美洲
  • 澳大利亚和新西兰
  • 亚洲
  • 欧洲
  • 非洲

Customers

Customer Profile - World Exchange View all »

View the PDF version

People Who Move the World: World Exchange

World Exchange is a multi-generational family business with logistics in its blood. An eye on the future and a respect for the past has led to its continued success in a rapidly changing industry.

In the logistics industry, upstart companies often compete on price and speed, constantly undercutting each other and often overpromising. But World Exchange understands that there’s no replacement for experience.

“You can always find cheap customs clearance, but you’re not going to find the breadth and depth of knowledge that I feel our firm offers,” says David Gomez, President and CEO of World Exchange.

“No matter the complexity of customs issues that are brought to our office, we can handle it.”

World Exchange thrives on challenge. Among the items the team has helped clear through customs are space shuttle debris, fresh air from Antarctica, and even cadaver parts for medical research.  

David’s confidence stems from a lifetime in the industry with many years working at all levels of the company. “Logistics has always been in the blood. Tom Bradley International Terminal [at LAX] was literally my playground growing up as a child. As I’ve grown with the company, it’s been a unique challenge and I’ve really enjoyed it.”

Tackling Change Head On

David took over from his father Frank Gomez as CEO last year. As with so many family businesses, the transition wasn’t easy but, at 71 years old, Frank felt it was essential. 

“Things are changing now with technology. You’ve got to let go and give the younger generation an opportunity to take hold and make things better,” says Frank. “I have total confidence in David. I know in my heart now that he can do it.”

Frank says Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) had been a dream of his since he started the company over 20 years ago, but he was initially resistant to migrating across to CargoWise One. He’s glad David convinced him to make the move.

“We were struggling,” Frank admits. “We have good tools now. We can compete on any level with anyone and that’s what I’m most proud of.”

Doing More with Less

CFO Amy Hess says the move to CargoWise One has allowed her to do less menial work and focus on what she loves. “We are able to do so much more,” she says. “There are projects that we are in the middle of that we would never have been able to do before because the software we had just wasn’t capable.”

Hess loves solving problems for her customers and for herself. In addition to employing a WiseService Partner to help with initial training, she says that the online resources available for CargoWise One have been continuously helpful. “We used the eLearning a lot. Once we had the system and we had the training and you could add the eLearning, all together it does make a big difference. And I still access the eLearning, there’s a lot of information there.”

For Frank Gomez, the decision to hire a WiseService Partner was an easy one, consistent with his business philosophy. “In this business, you don’t want to wait,” he says. “If we’re going to take something on, we’re going to go full steam ahead and get it done properly. [Engaging a WiseService Partner] allowed us to hit the ground running.”

David Gomez agrees. “When we actually pulled the trigger and went live that first day, it was really smooth. Compared to previous transitions, my staff felt very comfortable. There’s just so much support that we get from WiseTech that it’s been a night and day difference to where we were at before.”

New Challenges, New Opportunities

The switch to CargoWise One and the transition between generations at the helm have helped usher in a new era at World Exchange. Frank Gomez is now focusing on Problem Solvers, the consulting arm of the business, and David has bold new plans to continue the company’s growth. 

“I find logistics such a fascinating realm. There’s nothing quite like it on this planet where humans are interacting with each other through trade,” he says. “We’re, right now, getting some great opportunities to push forward in that realm and to be able to compete with the FedExes and DHLs and Amazons of the world. It’s a really exciting time to be in logistics and I’m just very excited to be able to work with my staff and grab the opportunities that are out there.”

In a family business like World Exchange, knowing where you’ve come from makes it much easier to see where you can go.

World Exchange Offers Customers:

  • Customs Brokerage
  • Customs Clearance
  • Warehouse/FTZ Entries
  • Fines, Penalties, and Forfeitures
  • Carnets, In-Bonds, and much more

Previous Customer Story:

Spatial Global

Spatial Global’s collaborative spirit, award-winning service, and dynamic use of technology indicate a future of exceptional growth across Europe.

Next Customer Story:

Worldwide Forwarding Network Pty Ltd

When Peter Vaughan launched Worldwide Forwarding Network in 1994 he says it felt like jumping off a cliff.

  • Americas
  • Australia & NZ
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Africa