客户案例

客户简介 - Worldwide Forwarding Network Pty Ltd 查看全部 »

View the PDF version

着眼于全球,落实于局部

当 Peter Vaughan 在 1994 年创办 Worldwide Forwarding Network 时,他说感觉就像跳下悬崖。为节省日常开支,他在租住的房间内成立第一家办事处,然后用 American Express 卡购买了一台传真机和一部移动电话,运用 22 年积累的经验和关系成功开设一家货代公司。

“我曾在进口业务和零售领域干过,知道进口商和零售商需要的是完美适应其公司需求,并迅速成为其运输上的得力助手。” Vaughan 说。“但主要问题是我们是一家新公司,从客户的角度来看确实缺乏安全感,因此我们必须注重可靠性,建立声誉。”

凭借“可靠商业伙伴”的良好声誉,Vaughn 赢得了前几单生意,并且最终与 Dimerco Group 建立合作伙伴关系,为 Worldwide Forwarding Network 进军美国市场迈出关键的一步。

“在这个行业,需要非常强大的人脉,”Vaughn 说。国际合作伙伴需要能够相信你会准时支付账单,并且还要致力于相互促进销售,相互在对方市场上销售。”

因此,虽然最初的发展足以让人惊叹,但 Vaughn 称,他凭借丰富的经验和强大的人脉从打工仔变成了企业家。

“这感觉就像是背着降落伞跳下悬崖,而不是双脚绑着砖块往下跳。”

从一开始,Vaughn 就认识到现金流是成功的一大关键,并且他积极寻求能够使其在账目、支付条款以及为客户提供可靠报价方面保持领先的尖端技术。

“我们从 1995 年左右开始使用电子邮件和互联网,并在 1997 年左右开始使用名为 Deliverance 的软件,后来我们在 CargoWise ediEnterprise 面世后随即改用 CargoWise ediEnterprise,”Vaughn 说。“我可以想象,如果我们开始使用该软件系统来处理尽可能多的流程,从报价到交易处理,那么我们就能减少日常开支。”

“早期,我们使用传真和人工处理,但到了 1997 年,我们 94% 的交易都已经电子化。”

作为电子数据处理的早期采用者,Worldwide Forwarding Network 能够和超越自己的对手竞争、扩大其客户群,而不会显著增加日常开支或人员数量。与此同时,Vaughn 还能集中精力拓展地区客户群和服务产品。2000 年,Worldwide Forwarding Network 在墨尔本设立办事处,2003 年开始涉足报关业务,2008 年在布里斯班开设新的分公司,利用软件推动发展,同时提供高质量的客户支持服务。

“ediEnterprise 系统能在整个周期内追踪订单完成情况,直至最终交付,”Vaughn 说。“我们使用这套系统,是因为它能满足我们的需求,即追踪订单、运营、会计、管理和仓储,而且现在我们的客户也能访问网站,我不能再要求什么了。”

目前,该公司在澳大利亚设有三个办事处,拥有 34 名全职员工,并且一直与 Dimerco Express Corporation 保持全球合作伙伴关系,后者在全球设有 145 家办事处,旗下员工多达 1900 人,能有效推动 Worldwide Forwarding Network 的发展。

“我们通过增加客户数量和为每个客户提供的工作量来实现有机增长,因此我们拥有扎实的客户群,并与银行等服务提供商以及全球货代网络保持良好的关系”,Vaughn 说。“这是行业的发展模式,电子通信技术让我们能够为客户提供支持,使客户在致电时感觉很舒适,并且知道我们是其公司的延伸。”

Worldwide Forwarding Network 为客户提供:

  • 广泛的亚洲网络,通过战略伙伴关系覆盖全球
  • 多元化和创新的供应链管理服务
  • 以客户为主导的个性化服务
  • 供应链管理的 B2B 电子商务能力
  • 强大的财务结构
  • 与各大航空公司和海运公司建立战略合作关系
  • 专业的管理团队和灵活的团队合作
  • IATA 认证

上一个客户案例:

M.E. Dey

立足物流行业 105 年后,M.E. Dey 开始使用先进的技术来履行其提高员工效率和客户服务水平的承诺。

下一步客户案例:

Spatial Global

协作精神、屡获殊荣的服务以及对技术的灵活运用,预示着 Spatial Global 在整个欧洲将有非凡的发展前景。

  • 美洲
  • 澳大利亚和新西兰
  • 亚洲
  • 欧洲
  • 非洲

Customers

Customer Profile - Worldwide Forwarding Network Pty Ltd View all »

View the PDF version

Global Focus, Local Approach

When Peter Vaughan launched Worldwide Forwarding Network in 1994, he says it felt like jumping off a cliff. Keeping his overheads low, he opened up his first office in a bedroom of the house he rented for his young family, bought a fax machine and a mobile phone on his American Express Card, and set about turning 22 years of experience and contacts into a successful freight forwarding company.

“I had worked on both sides of the fence so I knew that what importers and retailers needed was for us to fit seamlessly into their company, and effectively become their shipping department.” Vaughn says. “The main problem was that we were a young company and it looked really insecure from a client perspective, so we had to focus on reliability and build our reputation.”

It was Vaughn’s reputation as a reliable business associate which won him his first few contracts, and ultimately a partnership with the Dimerco group, giving Worldwide Forwarding Network a crucial initial link with the US market.

“In this industry, relationships need to be very strong,” says Vaughn. “Your international partners need to be able to trust you to pay your bills on time, and also be committed to mutual sales development so that you’re selling their market while they are selling yours.”

So while the initial free fall was enough to inspire vertigo, Vaughn says he made the jump from employee to entrepreneur with a parachute of experience and relationships.

“It was like jumping off a cliff with a parachute rather than jumping off with bricks tied to your feet.”

From the very beginning Vaughn identified cash flow as a key factor to his success, and sought technologies which would enable him to stay on top of his accounts, ahead of his payment terms, and provide customers with reliable quotes.

“We began using emails and the internet from about 1995, and began using software called Deliverance in about 1997, then later we switched over to CargoWise ediEnterprise when it was released,” Vaughn says. “I could see that it would reduce our overheads if we began to use the software system to handle as many processes as possible, from quotes all the way through transaction processing.”

“In early days, it was all about faxes and manual processing, but by 1997, ninety-four per cent of our transactions were electronic.”

As an early adopter of electronic processing, Worldwide Forwarding Network was able to punch above its weight, and expand its customer base without significantly expanding its overheads, or headcount. At the same time it freed up Vaughn to expand the geographical base and service offerings. In 2000 Worldwide Forwarding Network opened offices in Melbourne, in 2003 it diversified into customs brokerage, and in 2008 started up a new branch in Brisbane, strategically using software to grow while maintaining high levels of customer support.

“The ediEnterprise system does the order tracking right through to the ultimate delivery cycle,” Vaughn says. “We use it because it gives us what we need, the order tracking, the operational, the accounting, the administration, the warehousing, and now the customer’s got the website access as well; I can’t ask for more than that.“

Now operating across three offices in Australian with thirty-four full time staff, the company has maintained its global partnership with Dimerco Express Corporation, effectively providing Worldwide Forwarding Network a network of 145 offices around the world, and the collective knowledge of 1900 staff.

“We’ve grown organically by increasing the number of customers and the amount of work we do for each customer, so we’ve got a very solid base, a great relationship with our service providers like banks, and access to an international network of freight forwarders,” Vaughn says. “It’s the way the industry has grown using electronic communication allows us to support our clients so that our customers feel comfortable ringing us and know we will operate as an extension of their own company.”

Worldwide Forwarding Network Offers Customers:

  • Extensive network in Asia with global coverage through strategic partnership
  • Diversified and innovative service in Supply Chain Management
  • Customer oriented service with personal touch
  • B2B e-Commerce capability in Supply Chain Management
  • Strong financial structure
  • Strategic partnership with major airlines and ocean carriers
  • Professional management team with flexibility and team work
  • IATA accredited

Previous Customer Story:

Steam Logistics

A young startup with phenomenal growth potential, Steam Logistics stands ready to surprise its worldwide spectators.

Next Customer Story:

ACS Logistics, Austria

Young, agile and ambitious, ACS Logistics, Austria, has embraced technology to become a lean, next-generation logistics provider that’s focused on delivering superior customer service.

  • Americas
  • Australia & NZ
  • Asia
  • Europe
  • Africa